SportsTrack & Field

Oregon track and field climbs into record books after historic weekend

The Oregon track and field team once again split into two group this weekend, with distance runners and throwers competing in Corvallis, Oregon, while sprinters traveled to Tuscon, Arizona. With just two meets remaining until the Pac-12 Championships, head coach Robert Johnson wants runners to be locked into form.

For the first time in the past few years, Oregon will not have runners compete at the historic Penn Relays, as Johnson believed the team could get quality races closer to home. The meet, held at Penn State University, was changed to a week later than its usual date.

“We decided early on with the change in dates there to be gone that many days in a row probably wasn’t conducive for out ultimate goal there at the end of the season,” Johnson said.

Johnson also said Oregon State’s meet provides a great opportunity for the team to get quality races in without any pressure of earning team points.

“Any time it makes sense for us to go over there and support them and get our athletes chance to compete is a great opportunity, Johnson said.

The Oregon women are the No. 3 team in the country, according to the latest USTFCCCA poll. The men are currently ranked 10th.

OSU High Performance 

Sabrina Southerland, the NCAA 800-meter Indoor Champion, ran a personal best in the 1500-meter by almost five seconds. Her time of four minutes, 16 seconds won the invite section. Teammate Susan Ejore ran 4:25.19 for 11th place in the same race.

High jumper Ben Milligan won the men’s high jump by setting a new personal-best 7-2.5 (2.20m). It was the fifth-best height in UO history.

Both the men’s and women’s hammer throw teams competed in Corvallis. Max Lydum finished in third place by throwing 190 feet, two inches (57.98 meters). After throwing a personal-best 183-8 (55.99m), redshirt sophomore Austin Tharp finished just behind Lydum.

Maddie Rabing took third in the women’s hammer in 181-8 (55.47 m). Sydnee Walker, a freshman form Roswell, Georgia, threw 170-9 (52.04m), which improved her season-best by more than seven feet.

Desert Heat Classic 

The two women’s 4×100-meter teams swept the competition in historic fashion. The first team, composed of Alaysha Johnson, Jasmin Reed, Lauren Rain Williams and Ariana Washington won in 42.70 seconds, the fourth-best time in Oregon’s history and a top-5 time in the nation. The second team with Vanessa D’Arpino, Makenzie Dunmore and Shae Anderson ran 43.30, meaning both teams broke the previous  facility record of 43.43.

Johnson, the reigning Pac-12 champion in the 100-meter hurdles, won her heat 12.75 seconds, a season best. It was the fastest time ever run at Arizona’s track and field facility, Drachman Stadium.

Not to be outdone, freshman Kaylah Robinson ran the No. 5 fastest time in Oregon history in the 100-meter hurdles. Her time of 13.50 seconds was good for fifth place.

Braxton Canady jumped into the record books after winning his 110-meter hurdles in 13.79 seconds. The sophomore now owns Oregon’s No. 6 all-time spot.

Follow August Howell on Twitter @howell_august

Do you appreciate independent student journalism? Emerald Media Group is a non-profit organization. Please consider a donation to support our mission.



Tell us what you think:

August Howell

August Howell