Quinn Haaga wins 2016 ASUO presidential election

The runoff election results are in: Quinn Haaga of I’m with UO will be the new ASUO president.

The I’m with UO executive ticket won with 2,244 votes, while One Oregon’s Zach Rentschler received 555 votes in total.

Along with Haaga, the I’m with UO slate won every open position in this week’s election.

“I’m very humbled and honored to be elected,” Haaga said. “I would like to thank my slate for being there. I’m so proud that we ran a clean and honest campaign, and that paid off in the end.”

Newly elected internal vice president Zach Lusby said he “couldn’t feel better” about the results.

“I couldn’t be prouder of all the hard work that my slate has put in,” Lusby said. “I’m so excited that students came out and showed that you couldn’t buy an election. We are ready to go out again next week and advocate for our candidates.”

Rentschler said that he is still proud of One Oregon’s campaign and pointed to the slate’s campaign ban as an obstacle to its elections hopes.

“Being banned from campaigning for a few days definitely hurt,” he said. “We will continue to work on the ideas of bringing back Uber and providing free textbooks to students although we didn’t get elected.”

The second runoff election will be held for five seats that were improperly submitted last week. Voting will be open from April 18 to April 22.

Haaga and her slate will take office May 25.

Do you appreciate independent student journalism? Emerald Media Group is a non-profit organization. Please consider a donation to support our mission.



Tell us what you think:

Tran Nguyen

Tran Nguyen

Crime and Court senior reporter, specializing in sorting through non-interactive spreadsheet. Formerly reporting on ASUO, Housing and Construction.

Send tips to [email protected] Follow me on Twitter @tranngngn. K thanks bye.