Guest viewpoint: FSL supports ACFC stance on athletics negotiations

Dear Eric Roedl,

We, the elected leaders of Fraternity and Sorority life, support the ACFC and the ASUO in their efforts to negotiate a fair deal for students and Athletics when it comes to student football and basketball tickets. We firmly believe, given the increase in tuition costs next year, that students as a whole cannot afford to pay more money for the same number of football tickets that we received last year. We believe that the current allocation of football tickets is already too small and that you, as the Athletic Department, should be working to increase the number of students at our football games. It was disappointing to see that an increase in student football tickets was never on the table during your negotiations.

We wholeheartedly support all of our athletic teams and take great pride in our university programs. However, reducing the number of subsidized tickets hinders the participation of our members. We believe that every student should have the opportunity to attend games at their own university. Students and the Athletic Department both benefit by having a consistently large, boisterous student section at games. In fact, the environment created by students at Autzen Stadium is part of what makes our football program so great.

Currently, there are students on this campus that have failed to get a ticket to every single football game because of the limits you’ve placed on the number of tickets we are allocated. This is unacceptable and we demand change.

Please reconsider your stance and do not reduce the number of subsidized student football tickets for next year.


PHC President | Rebecca Brennan | PHC President
PHC VP of Accountability | Allison Wieder (ACFC Vice-Chair)
PHC VP of Recruitment | Josie Roberts
PHC VP of Community Programming | Kelsey Fuson
PHC VP of Membership Development | Kayla Murphy
PHC VP of Internal Management | Rachel Weinfield

Chi Omega | President | Marita Maffit
Delta Gamma | President | Victoria Ganahl
Kappa Alpha Theta | President | Emma Silvers
Kappa Delta | President | Nicole Korkos
Kappa Kappa Gamma | President | Ali Northcutt
Pi Beta Phi | President | Alysia Kezerian
Sigma Mu Omega | President | Margaret Butler

Alpha Phi | PHC Delegate | Maddie Mendes
Chi Omega | PHC Delegate | Jessica Rogers
Delta Delta Delta | PHC Alternate | Lindsay Wiens
Delta Delta Delta | PHC Alternate | Jordan Deeter
Delta Gamma | PHC Alternate | Meg Meagher
Kappa Alpha Theta | PHC Delegate | Tess Griffo
Kappa Alpha Theta | PHC 2nd Delegate | Alexis Baun
Kappa Delta | PHC Delegate | Megan Codd
Kappa Kappa Gamma | PHC Delegate | Kara Orsolini
Pi Beta Phi | PHC Delegate | Brianna Tepper
Sigma Mu Omega | PHC Delegate | Bridget Lawson

IFC President | Max Lehman
IFC VP of Accountability | Francis Howitt
IFC VP of Recruitment | Cameron Parker
IFC VP of Risk Management | John Paul Muessle
IFC VP of Civic Engagement | Jason Selby
IFC VP of Community Programs | Andrew Weiss
IFC VP of Internal Management | Robert DeVleming

Alpha Epsilon Pi | President | Matthew London
Alpha Tau Omega | President | Gustavo Feria
Beta Theta Pi | President | Jack Chalabian
Chi Psi | President | Thomas McMillian
Delta Sigma Phi | President | Jon Workman
Delta Tau Delta | President | Sam Selbie
Delta Upsilon | President | Hayden Rahn
Kappa Sigma | President | Andrew Caraballo
Lambda Chi Alpha | President | Zan Schindler
Phi Delta Theta | President | Jon Gubler
Phi Gamma Delta | President | Michael Lyford
Phi Kappa Psi | President | Dexter Muller
Pi Kappa Phi | Archon | Chris Jones
Sigma Alpha Epsilon | President | Gabriel Schnitzer
Sigma Chi | President | J. T. Livingston Bullier
Sigma Nu | President | Patrick Poggi
Sigma Phi Epsilon | President | Casey Davis
Sigma Pi | President | Robert Mollusky
Theta Chi | President | Noah Daniels

Do you appreciate independent student journalism? Emerald Media Group is a non-profit organization. Please consider a donation to support our mission.



Tell us what you think:

Daily Emerald

Daily Emerald