Letters to the EditorOpinion

Guest viewpoint: ASUO leaders endorse We Are Oregon

Fellow Ducks:

You pay an incidental fee of over $600 each year to form an ASUO budget of over $15 million. This week on DuckWeb, you have the opportunity to vote for leaders with the power to control this budget. The ASUO budget is easily the most important thing that elected officials have to work on, and we want to be sure that it is in capable and experienced hands. Among other things, it funds free athletics tickets, bus passes, and over 140 programs.

$15 million is a lot of money and could be getting you a lot more than it currently is. We Are Oregon is the only campaign that has acknowledged this through its key platform point of fiscal responsibility. They plan to spend your money more efficiently and provide better support for groups throughout the budget process.

Out of the three presidential candidates, Miles Sisk has the most experience dealing with the ASUO budget. After briefly serving on the Department Finance Committee, Sisk served for two years on the EMU Board of Directors, Senate, and is currently the Senate Vice-President. During that time, he has already created efficient spending habits.

To give just three examples: (1) He authored the senate rule that enabled Safe Ride and Designated Driver Shuttle to rollover funds through the next year so they can meet fluctuating gas prices and maintenance costs. (2) He got the EMU administration to pick up the administrative parts of the EMU budget, which reduces their impact on your fees. (3) He has put endless effort into receiving grants for EMU solar panels, which will save money and energy.

For those reasons, we respectfully and strongly disagree with Emerald’s endorsement for this election.  We endorse Miles Sisk and the We Are Oregon slate for the 2015-16 ASUO elections.

Yelin Oh
Senate Seat 1
Programs Finance Committee, Chair

Quinn Haaga
Senate Seat 2
Programs Finance Committee, Vice-Chair

Kate Klosno
Senate Seat 3
Programs Finance Committee

Robin Lilley
Senate Seat 5
EMU Board

Ronnie Grenier-Hemphill
Senate Seat 8
Athletics Contract Finance Committee

Megan Williams
Emeritus Senate Seat 9
Emeritus Departments Finance Committee Chair

Samantha Cohen
Senate Seat 13
Senate Ombudsperson
Literature, Family, and Educational Studies

Connor Lasken
Senate Seat 14
Pre-Business and Allied Arts

Hao Tan
Senate Seat 16
Life Sciences

Dylan Haupt
Senate Seat 18
Mathematics and Economics

Zachary Rentschler
Departments Finance Committee, Vice Chair

Jesse Lefferts
Departments Finance Committee

Evan Roth
Departments Finance Committee

Jake Derman
Departments Finance Committee

Amy Laube
Athletics and Contracts Finance Committee

Taylor Allison
EMU Board Budget Chair

Kaitlyn Fallon
EMU Board House Chair

Jasmine Asadi
EMU Board

Zan Schindler
EMU Board

Do you appreciate independent student journalism? Emerald Media Group is a non-profit organization. Please consider a donation to support our mission.



Tell us what you think:

Daily Emerald

Daily Emerald